Well it looks like the rumored sequel to the 1996 classic Space Jam is officially green lit. It was announced today that the film has found it’s director, Justin Lin, and is set to star LeBron James.

 Displaying FullSizeRender.jpgspace jam 2 tweet

First off, didn’t even know this Justin Lin guy directed The Fast & The Furious 3–6. If he wasn’t Dom Toretto or Brian O’Conner (RIP Paul Walker) I didn’t care. Plus, I’m not that much of a movie buff where I know directors. I literally thought they just got this guy because no one wanted to make a movie with LeBron..which may be the case, who knows?

How can you make a sequel to Space Jam?? You just can’t, especially with LeBron. I know that rebooting movies and TV shows is a hot trend these days, but Space Jam is not something that can be redone. The original is too much of a classic to ruin with a sequel.

Obviously I’m not for the movie, but if it had to be done why choose LeBron? You’re just asking people to hate it before it’s even filmed. If they we’re planning on making a sequel, should have done it in the mid to late 2000s with Kobe.. And even that wouldn’t have been that good.

LeBron may be a superstar in the NBA, but his perception among fans iffy. He’s not as well respected as someone like Jordan, not even close. Choosing him as the star of the film has already set the precedent. This movie will not make the money it hopes to.

I for one, will not be seeing this movie, and I know there are plenty of others who feel the same. Let me know what you think.

@mgala16

Day 1 Podcast @day1podcast

PS: Cue the #CryingJordan Memes.

