I’m still hurt at the firing of Tom Thibodeau.  It was an ugly break up between Thibs and the Bulls front office.  I understand part of it though, Thibs was lacking that offensive mind which they definitely needed against the Cavaliers in the second round of the playoffs.  Had they been able to capitalize on offense, I believe Chicago would have won that series.  No Kevin Love, Kyrie was banged up, Lebron was shaky, and Mozgov is still a scrub. Oh, and let’s not forget David Blatt, the most inept coach I’ve ever seen.  Something was lacking towards the end of that series, it honestly looked like the Bulls were giving up.  The speculation that Thibs would be dismissed as head coach had been speculating for the good part of the second half of the season.  I’ll admit it, Gar Forman and John Paxson have done some good for the franchise, getting them to where it is today, but I believe they’re driving the coaches away.  It’s not just Thibs they had a rocky relationship with, Scott Skiles and Vinny Del Negro as well.  This is a recurring theme taking place in the Chicago Bulls organization because the front office wants to control how the team operates on the court. Last time I checked that was the coaching staff’s responsibility.

Moving on from Thibs, the Bulls hyped up their search for a head coach.  Which was BS, they had their guy, Fred Hoiberg, the head coach of the Iowa State Cyclones, the whole time. So you’re telling me the Chicago Bulls, a constant threat in the Eastern Conference, are looking to replace one of the franchise’s most winning coaches with a college coach?  C’mon man. They should’ve scooped up Alvin Gentry when they had the chance.  Gentry, who is recognized as one of the best offensive minds in the game, played a major part in orchestrating the offense for the Golden State Warriors.  I’m not sure if Forman or Paxson have seen the Warriors play this season but they’re in the finals.  No disrespect to Steve Kerr, big Kerr supporter, but you honestly think a rookie head coach could have been responsible for that beautifully executed offense? Gentry is the star behind the scenes in Golden State.  Also, I feel I need to add this, Cavs got to the finals because of Lebron.  David Blatt had zero influence on that.  David Blatt is going to be the Greg Oden of coaching.  Quote me on that.  Back to Hoiberg, yes, he has a great offensive mind.  But college hoops and the NBA are two completely different games.  Iowa State was one of my favorite teams to watch, I thoroughly enjoyed watching their offensive schemes, but can Hoiberg adapt his system to the NBA is the question.  Right now I’m going to say no, I could be wrong, we’ll have to wait and see.  If you think anything Hoiberg runs hasn’t been seen in the NBA you’re probably wrong.

The thing I find most absurd is that the Bulls plan on giving Hoiberg a 5yr/$25mil contract.  I find that to be ridiculous for a rookie head coach, especially one coming from college.   Forman and Paxson are only hiring this guy because they will be able to control him.  Hoiberg is going to be their puppet.  The front office is going to make the decisions for the team on the court now and that irritates the hell out of me.  The Bulls need an offensive minded coach who can run a system that fits the likes of Rose, Noah, Gasol, and possibly Butler, and that coach is not Fred Hoiberg.  Fred Hoiberg will not lead the Bulls to an NBA championship. I hope he proves me wrong, but at this moment it’s unlikely.  hoiberg

